Commission on Student Mental Health and Well-being

2018 Charge

In April 2018, President Michael V. Drake commissioned a Suicide and Mental Health Task Force charged with reviewing the university’s suicide prevention efforts and mental health support, identifying opportunities for improvement and assessing if any best practices may enhance Ohio State’s portfolio of support.

Task Force Members

The original Task Force was brought together over the summer of 2018 to create the recommendation report. The work of this group was complete upon the submission of the report to President Drake for review and identification of next steps. The members of the 2018 Suicide and Mental Health Task Force were:

  • (Co-chair) Javaune Adams-Gaston, PhD, Senior Vice President for Student Life
  • (Co-chair) Eileen P. Ryan, DO, Interim Chair and Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health, College of Medicine and Wexner Medical Center
  • Ziv Bell, MA, Council of Graduate Students representative and PhD candidate
  • Sarah Gartner, Inter-Professional Council President and MD candidate
  • Darcy Haag Granello, PhD, Professor of Counselor Education and Director of The Ohio State University Suicide Prevention Program
  • David Horn, PhD, Professor of Comparative Studies
  • Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CRP, FAANP, FAAN, Vice President for Health Promotion, University Chief Wellness Officer, Dean and Professor, College of Nursing, Professor of Pediatrics and Psychiatry and College of Medicine
  • Shamina Merchant, Undergraduate Student Government President and undergraduate student
  • Jordan Moseley, Undergraduate member of Ohio State’s Board of Trustees and undergraduate student 
  • Anne Schira, JD, Associate General Counsel, Office of Legal Affairs
  • Cassandra Shaffer, Crime Prevention Officer with The Ohio State University Police Division