Commission on Student Mental Health and Well-being


The commission had 16 members including Ohio State students, administrators, faculty and staff. The commission also includes several former members of the Suicide and Mental Health Task Force. Members include:

  • (Co-chair) Melissa Shivers, PhD - Senior Vice President for Student Life
  • (Co-chair) Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CRP, FAANP, FAAN - Vice President for Health Promotion, University Chief Wellness Officer, Dean and Helene Fuld Health Trust Professor of Evidence-based Practice, College of Nursing, Professor of Pediatrics and Psychiatry and College of Medicine (former Task Force member)
  • (Staffing Role) Kellie Uhrig, MBA - Associate Vice President and Chief of Staff
  • Carol Bradford, MD, MS, FACS - Dean of the College of Medicine and Vice President for Health Sciences at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  • Madelyn M. Carson - President and Co-Founder, Wellness Advocacy; Undergraduate Student Representative, Athletic Council
  • Jacob Chang - President of Undergraduate Student Government
  • Shawnté Elbert, EdD, MCHES, CHWC - Associate Vice Present for Health and Well-being, Office of Student Life
  • Darcy Haag Granello, PhD, LPCC-S - Professor, Counselor Education, Director of OSU Suicide Prevention Program (former Task Force member)
  • Abigail Grieff - Vice President for the Council of Graduate Students
  • David Horn, PhD - Professor of Comparative Studies (former Task Force member)
  • James Houle, PhD - Lead Sport Psychologist for Ohio State Athletics
  • Jim Lange, PhD - Executive Director of Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Misuse, Prevention and Recovery
  • Jacquelyn Meshelemiah, PhD - Associate Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion
  • Anne Schira, JD, MA - Senior Associate General Counsel and Director of Legal Operations and Strategic Initiatives (former Task Force member)
  • Sharon Tucker, PhD, APRN-CNS, NC-BC, EBP-C, FNAP, FAAN - Grayce Sills Endowed Professor in Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing, College of Nursing
  • Jordan Vajda, MA, MDiv - representative from Inter-Professional Council